The WakuWafu and Starlight Blogger Awards

Cor blimey! It seems I’ve been nominated for The WakuWafu and Starlight Blogger Awards by none other than the brilliant Chasm of Thought. I always enjoy reading your blog and I’m thrilled that you enjoy reading my work as much as I do yours.

These are the rules for The WakuWafu Award:

1. Thank the person who has nominated you and provide a link to their blog.

2. awardChoose any 3 things you would like to say about yourself to your fellow bloggers.
3. Think up 3 questions you would like to ask the people you nominate.
4. Give one piece of advice to your fellow bloggers.

5. Make sure to tell us over here (http://wakuwafu.com/2015/09/08/the-wakuwafu-award/) that you have been nominated (and/or completed the award) so that we can put your blog up on the wakuwafu page! Make sure to put down your blog in the comments section!

The Starlight Blogger rules are:starlight-blogger-award

  1. Thank the giver and link to their blog in your post.
  2.  Answer the 3 questions given to you.
  3. Please pass the award on to 6 or more other bloggers of your choice and let them know that they have been nominated.
  4.  Include the logo of the award in a post or on your blog. Please never alter the logo and never change the rules.

I’ll get straight into the questions asked by Chasm of Thought.

Which fictional reality would you be happiest living out the rest of your days in?

So I ummed and ahhed for a while over this but I’ve decided to go with Skyrim. There hasn’t been a world in a game that has captivated me like Skyrim did. A beautiful world with a range of different environments that could satisfy a lifetime of adventures, I mean I clocked over 200 hours in that game and could easily go back to it. Plus I would be a badass Dovahkiin. Enough said.

Which person do you respect most? Can be fictional or real, known personally or not. You also don’t have to necessarily like them.

So I’ll keep with the theme of video game related answers and tell you who I respect most in the video games industry. He is someone I’ve known of for a few years but only started following in recent months, yet he has provided a lot of entertainment and insight. It’s none other than John Bain aka TotalBiscuit. He is quite the controversial figure in the games industry, but listening to his podcast and an assortment of audio blogs has provided a lot of insight into the industry, and has helped me think about things from different perspectives. I don’t always agree with his views, but I respect his opinions and can always understand where he is coming from. He also doesn’t give a damn about calling someone out on their shit which I do rather like.

What made you want to start blogging, and what’ve your experiences been like so far?

Well this I can answer pretty easily. I’ve been an avid video games fan since 5 years old, but as usually goes with being a kid I didn’t have much money to spend on them. Picking the next game to play was sometimes a difficult decision and so I turned to gaming magazines for help. I used to pore over these magazines, vicariously playing games through them and what I read really inspired me as a writer. The next logical step was to start a blog, and the rest is history (albeit a short one). What I’ve loved about starting my blog is the engagement I’ve had with the gaming community on WordPress, and I love reading everyones thoughts on different games.

Here are my nominees

I can always rely on these blogs to give some informed and entertaining discussions on a range of different video games and films, and I’ve really enjoyed engaging with them in my short time blogging.

After Story

Game, Complain, Repeat

Matt on Video Games

Wave Motion Fist

Established 82

What Rhino Said

Three Questions I’d Like To Ask

  1. What video game character would you want as a sibling?
  2. What is your most anticipated video game this year?
  3. What is your favourite video game OST?

A Piece of Advice for the Road

I am by no means an expert to dictate on how to write, but one of the most important things I’ve learnt through studying at university and blogging is proof reading is key. I’m always surprised by how many mistakes I make or when something doesn’t sound right at all. It’s a really useful habit to get in to, so I think this is the best advice I can give to my fellow bloggers!

Thanks again to Chasm of Thought for the nomination, and if you got to the end I hope you enjoyed learning a few little facts about me.

5 thoughts on “The WakuWafu and Starlight Blogger Awards

  1. Thanks for the nomination buddy! I only interact with a few bloggers so my list of nominations may be slightly shorter 😛 this is a very cool idea and I will definitely give it a go 🙂 I have so many things to write and so many games to play 😣 first world problems at their finest

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’d make a kickass Dovahkiin.
    Also agree with your points on Totalbiscuit; he always justifies his views rather than assuming his word should suffice, which is so important in criticism. He also happens to be an incredibly personable, amusing personality.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

